Starting on Second Frame

Posted by rkligman 
Starting on Second Frame
April 28, 2010 02:48PM
I just picked up FlashEff 2 and as I should be, I'm real excited about it. I'm a multi decade programmer but very new to Flash. I only get in it when someone hands me something to tweak. I got this component rather than a 3rd party tool to help me stay in Flash and see if Flash is a viable tool in my arsenal. So expect some more "how do I do it posts" in this forum as I tread these waters.

My first questions have to do with the "start the FlashEff on the second frame" credo. I am having all kinds of problems when I try to do that. If I create some Text and drop a FE2 component on it, everything works fine. When I move the component and Text to Frame 2 nothing works. I was finally able to dig out that I should put a stop() on Frame 2 and that seems to make it work again.

1. Why is it critical that I add the stop()?

2. I'm fairly confused as to how to put the Text and Component on Frame 2. Not really understanding how to manipulate frames to well, my approach has been to drop the Text on a Layer, go to Frame 2, click Add Frame, then go to Frame 1 and move it to Frame 2. I can't seem to actually CREATE the text on Frame 2 for some reason. Are the steps I just gave the best/easiest way?

Rick Insane Diego...
Re: Starting on Second Frame
May 03, 2010 04:19PM
rkligman,

1. The flasheff2 component is a very complex component, which is based on a large amount of code and there could be times when Flash player does not manage to initialize the component on the very first frame. That's why we recommend to put the flasheff2 component only starting with the second frame. Making that you will prevent any malfunction .